2013 Olmsted Legacy Award


National Association for Olmsted Parks
Olmsted Legacy Award for Excellence in Preservation

Each year the National Association for Olmsted Parks (NAOP) presents the Olmsted Legacy Award to recognize excellence in preserving and advancing the work of the Olmsted firm.

First presented in 2012, the award recognizes individuals, organizations, projects and programs for their leadership, vision and stewardship in preserving and advancing the work of Frederick Law Olmsted, his sons and successor firm.

NAOP invites you to participate in celebrating the Olmsted heritage by nominating individuals, organizations, projects and programs you believe are most deserving of the Olmsted Legacy Award. 

2013 Award Guidelines
In 2013, the Olmsted Legacy Award will be presented during the symposium Frederick Law Olmsted Jr.: Inspirations for the 21st Century, October 10–11, at the National Building Museum in Washington, DC.


  • Landscape preservation, advocacy and outreach work related to landscapes designed by Frederick Law Olmsted, his sons and successor firm. Eligible Olmsted projects are documented in The Master List of Design Projects of the Olmsted Firm 1857–1979 (2nd edition, NAOP and National Park Service, 2007), and through the Olmsted Research Guide Online, and identified by an Olmsted job number.  
  • Projects must be completed—and programs or policies must be substantially implemented— before a nomination is submitted, and must have been completed within the last three years.  Long-term projects are eligible if substantial achievements have been made within the last three years. Previous nominations that did not receive an award may be resubmitted. 
  • Self-nominations will be accepted. NAOP trustees and advisors are not eligible for individual nomination during the period of their active service and for three years thereafter. 

Criteria: Nominees must help advance and raise the visibility of the Olmsted legacy and meet one or more of the following criteria:

  1. Exemplary stewardship, intervention, treatment, program or policy resulting in successful preservation, rehabilitation and/or active use of an Olmsted landscape in accordance with Olmsted design intent and principles and, where applicable, with the Secretary of the Interior’s standards and guidelines for the treatment of historic properties.
  2. Outstanding partnerships that preserve and advance Olmsted work and can serve as a model for other partnerships.
  3. Significant contribution to community revitalization, public involvement or other public benefit related to Olmsted work.

Nominations may be made by any NAOP member, and must include:

  1. A completed nomination form. Click here to download a nomination form. pdf_icon4
  2. A description (10,000 characters or less) of the nominated project, program, organization or individual, including:

    A concise response addressing the award criteria.

    If nominating an Olmsted site, explain its Olmsted lineage/project history from Olmsted firm involvement to present, Olmsted job number, challenges overcome, unique strategies or approaches undertaken, and the impact of these activities. Include available information on the Olmsted design and implementation, and current condition.

    Describe the people/organizations involved and how this project could be a model for others.

    Brief explanation of long-term sustainability (may include maintenance/business plans, implementation strategies, financial information if applicable).

    Bio of nominee(s) for individual achievement.
  3. Up to three letters of recommendation submitted with the nomination.
  4. 10–15 jpeg images, minimum of 300 dpi, with photo captions and credit, illustrating various aspects of the project or program.  Nominations for individual achievement must include a head shot of the nominee(s). Submitted images may be used by NAOP for educational and promotional purposes.
  5. Nominations may also include up to 5 supporting documents (brochures, news articles, maintenance/business plans or similar explanatory information).

Timeline: Please send completed nomination materials electronically, in a single e-mail to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it by June 30, 2013.  All nomination material will be retained by the NAOP.

Selection Process: NAOP will review eligible nominations and select an award recipient in August. The recipient will be notified and the award announced by September 2.    

Questions? Please contact David Glickstein at the NAOP office at 202-223-9113, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .