

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION for OLMSTED PARKS

"... advances Olmsted's principles and legacy of irreplaceable parks and landscapes that revitalize communities and enrich people's lives."

Board of Trustees

Lucy Lawliss, Co-Chair Bradenton, FL

Barbara Yaeger, Co-Chair Madison, CT

Lane Addonizio, Secretary New York, NY

Philip Schultz, Treasurer Whitefish, WI

Christina Argo Birmingham, AL

Katie Eggers Comeau Rochester, NY

Patrice Kish Boston, MA

Arleyn Levee Watertown, MA

Douglas Luetjen Seattle, WA

Paul Daniel Marriott Washington, DC

Alida Silverman Atlanta, GA

Spencer Tunnell Atlanta, GA

Anne "Dede" Neal Petri President and CEO

Aga Simmons Administrator

Statement of the National Association for Olmsted Parks South Mountain Reservation

2020 marks the 125th anniversary of the Essex County (NJ) Park System, the first county park system in the nation, and one of the jewels of the Olmsted firm. On April 23-25, Essex County will be hosting an anniversary conference, *Olmsted Legacy: Honoring the Past, Treasuring the Present, Shaping the Future*, in conjunction with NAOP's annual meeting. We look forward to participating in this celebration and exploring the County's open spaces.

We understand that a proposal to expand the Turtle Back Zoo in the South Mountain Reservation is generating considerable public concern. This large and complex Reservation was designed by the Olmsted firm to balance remarkable natural features with built assets providing diverse recreational experiences. In the spirit of the Conference, we urge Essex County to go slow and to explore its range of options before proceeding. The Reservation is a historic nature reserve and any changes should be pursued only after public hearings and with due attention to the historical and ecological ramifications. Over the last decade, the Essex County Executive and other public officials have successfully transformed the Zoo from a facility in need of rehabilitation into a popular and dynamic destination. Any future changes should build on this success by ensuring the input of concerned citizens and professionals.

For 40 years, the National Association for Olmsted Parks has been dedicated to advancing Olmsted principles and the legacy of irreplaceable parks and landscapes that revitalize communities and enrich people's lives. To learn more about our work, please sign up <u>here</u>.

January 9, 2020

Advisory Council Eleanor Ames

Portland, ME

Kathleen Conner Seattle, WA

> Julie Crockford Boston, MA

Eliza Davidson Seattle, WA

Rolf Diamant Woodstock, VT

Robert Doyle Oakland, CA

Erin Gallentine Brookline, MA

Betsy Shure Gross Davis, CA

Esley Hamilton St. Louis, MO

> Donald Harris Seattle, WA

Faye Harwell Alexandria, VA

Thomas Herrera-Mishler San Diego, CA

> John Karel Ste. Genevieve, MO

> > Anne Knight Seattle, WA

Francis Kowsky Buffalo, NY

Phil Loughlin Cambridge, MA

Larry McCann Victoria, BC

Rosemarie Murane Denver, CO

Christine Edstrom O'Hara San Luis Obispo, CA

> Ed Orser Baltimore, MD

Elizabeth Barlow Rogers New York, NY

> Ann Satterthwaite Washington, DC