Beardsley Park

Bridgeport, CT

Olmsted Job Number(s)
#00691
Designers
Correspondence Date(s)

About Beardsley Park

In 1884 Frederick Law Olmsted and his son, John C. Olmsted, designed Beardsley Park, which is situated along the Pequonnock River. Utilizing the 100 acres of land that had been donated to the city, their preliminary plan illustrates dense tree-lined borders and large central areas of open space, satisfying the image of a ‘pastoral park’.

Correspondence between the Olmsted Brothers and the Board of Park Commissioners, reveals the City of Bridgeport reached out to the firm again in 1902. Requesting assistance in improving the park, it appears disagreements over fees and contracts may have hindered progress. While new plans were drawn up, it is unclear whether these additions were made. The most dramatic change to the landscape occurred in 1920, when a zoo was built on the southern grounds of the park.

Explore the Map

Photo Library