Awards Given

The Caroline Loughlin Volunteer Service Award

In 2005, the board established The Caroline Loughlin Volunteer Service Award "in recognition of extraordinary dedication and commitment," and presented the first award to Caroline. Caroline was a valued trustee, officer and long-time supporter. Her husband, Phil, and The Caroline Loughlin Fund, continue to advance the work of the Olmsted Network in extraordinary ways.

Olmsted Stewardship Award

The Olmsted Stewardship Award recognizes an individual or institution for outstanding stewardship of the living legacy of landscapes designed by Frederick Law Olmsted and by his sons, associates, and successor firms. Honorees have shown a sustained commitment to and a record of accomplishment in researching, managing, preserving, and interpreting Olmsted landscapes for future generations.

Olmsted Legacy Award

This award was presented from 2012 – 2016. The award recognized individuals, organizations, or programs for leadership, vision, and stewardship of specific landscapes. Those individuals and institutions are now acknowledged by the Stewardship Award.

The President’s Award

Established in 2022, the President’s Award recognizes exemplary service in championing Olmsted work and principles. Recipients are selected by the President and CEO of the Olmsted Network and approved by the Board of Directors.

Certificate of Appreciation

From time to time, the Olmsted Network also presents Certificates of Appreciation to acknowledge important initiatives.

Professional Grounds Management Olmsted Award

In 2022, the Olmsted Network partnered with the Professional Grounds Management Society (PGMS) to launch a brand-new annual award— the Green Star Olmsted Award, recognizing exemplary maintenance of historic landscapes. The award is presented annually at the PGMS Conference and Awards Dinner.