The National Association for Olmsted Parks invites you to nominate individuals, organizations, projects, and programs that help advance and raise the visibility of the Olmsted legacy. NAOP is looking for nominations for the Caroline Loughlin Volunteer Service Award and the Olmsted Legacy Stewardship Award, which are both detailed below. The deadline to apply is February 28, 2022. The application is located here and should be emailed to

The Caroline Loughlin Volunteer Service Award recognizes “extraordinary dedication and commitment to the preservation of the Olmsted legacy.” Named after Caroline Loughlin, a valued trustee, officer and long-time supporter of NAOP, the award may be given to an individual or an organization which “volunteers to promote and protect the Olmsted legacy.”

Caroline enthusiastically participated in many activities that carried on the Olmsted legacy. She was noteworthy for her passion, intelligence, perseverance, and generosity. In gratitude for her many contributions, NAOP established this award in 2005. 

Past recipients include Caroline Loughlin, Charles Beveridge, Jerry Baum, Jim Rollins, Lauren Meier, Anne Knight, Susan Frey Rademacher, and Gerry Wright. 

The Olmsted Legacy Stewardship Award recognizes “outstanding stewardship of the living legacy of landscapes” designed by Frederick Law Olmsted and his sons. It acknowledges leadership, vision, and stewardship in preserving and advancing the work of Frederick Law Olmsted, his sons, and successor firm. Individuals, projects and organizations are eligible. 

Nominees must help advance and raise the visibility of the Olmsted legacy and meet one or more of the following criteria: 

  1. Exemplary stewardship, intervention, treatment, advocacy and/or outreach resulting in successful preservation, rehabilitation, and/or active use of an Olmsted landscape in accordance with Olmsted design intent and principles and where applicable, with the Secretary of Interior’s standards and guidelines for the treatment of historic properties. 
  2. Outstanding partnerships that preserve and advance Olmsted work and can serve as a model for other partnerships
  3. Significant contributions to community revitalization, or other public benefit related to the Olmsted work. 

Past recipients include David Schuyler, Louisville Olmsted Parks Conservancy, Marion Pressler, Mimi Batchelder Brown (Moraine Farm), Jeremy and Margaret Jacobs (Deeridge).